Rejected Stories & Agent Queries

As writers, many of us are used to reading, “Sorry, but this just isn’t what we’re looking for at the moment,” in some fashion or another. The industry is very subjective, and we as artists and world builders are encouraged not to take rejection personally. It’s not a reflection of our work at all, but simply the editor or agent’s preference.

CopingwithRejection-700x460

I feel like I’m writing this to connect with any writers out there who are experiencing self-doubt about their work. We’ve all been there. I’m still there as of writing this. Sometimes I think my work is garbage. Other times I feel like my stories aren’t going anywhere because I lose focus, and my ideas begin to fizzle out.

The worst is a combination of the following: loss of momentum, loss of focus, and stress. This is what I’m going through at the moment. It’s not fun; my imaginary friends are mad at me.

But getting back on track…rejected stories and queries should not be taken personally. And if you’re feeling the pressure or weight, simply take a step back. I’ve found (and my fellow writer friends have encouraged this) that taking some time off writing will help; it will recharge your imagination. Whether it’s binge-reading, playing a video game, or drawing…take some time.

Your imaginary friends will thank you.

 

3 thoughts on “Rejected Stories & Agent Queries

  1. So often we receive dead silence. Maybe 50%. Two months ago a great agent asked me for my entire package. I sent it. Nothing. Followed up two weeks ago. Nothing. Last week I sent out 5 restyled queries. Four out of five answered in the first five days. Two seemed to be personalized. Am I supposed to think this is a good week?

    1. I’ve had the same thing happen to me, so I totally understand.

      Regarding the queries, I consider it a good week, haha. Even if I receive a rejection, if it’s personalized it means my query letter has improved.

Leave a Reply

