Editing and Notes From Friends

Writing a book isn’t easy. Writing isn’t inherently easy. And editing a story sometimes makes me want to bash my head against the desk. But damn it, it just needs to be done.

That’s how I used to look at editing a couple of years ago. But over time, I realized it was something I actually enjoyed, like inking a drawing and watching everything really come to life.

I_love_my_editor

For the past couple of weeks, you may or may not have noticed my small bout of writer depression (or just depression, I guess). It’s over. I’m done with it, and I’ve slowly come back to looking at my work with fondness. Everything around is better, which helps a lot, but the biggest boost I got was when my longtime friend (and part time creative partner) sent me back his fantastically detailed notes about The Forger.

Erik has read most of the books I’ve written. We have a very similar aesthetic for storytelling (though he illustrates his through film), which helps immensely in my work connecting or appealing to him on some level. Because of this, and because of the extensiveness of his notes, Erik is usually the first person I go to when I begin editing.

What I like about the notes, though, is the confidence it gives me in my writing. They’re encouraging while critical at the same time. Erik tells me what he liked, what didn’t make sense, and what I might consider changing. On top of that, he gives me a page by page list of types, which makes it so damn easy to fix them.

I’ve known Erik since I was four; I will be 26 in August, and funnily enough, his birthday is the day after mine. That’s just fate.

My point is that sometimes it really pays to have your friends read the rough draft of a book you think is great but currently think is shit. It’s going to give you new life and a new perspective on that story.

So thanks, Erik!

Leave a Reply

