Writer Resources 7: Jason Stephenson & #Meditation

As writers we often times have several story ideas floating around in our heads. In addition, we carry all those little character and world building thoughts, leading to a pretty cramped space. As people we can sometimes feel stressed, whether its a product of our writing, our day jobs, or something else entirely.

For the past couple of months, I often times found myself carrying around extra weight mentally. It stemmed from my frustration with my writing and my day job. As a result, I found it hard to press through the revisions I was in the middle of doing (and they were quite extensive). No matter how much I worked out physically (often my go to form of stress relief) or tried to relax that mental wall remained.

And then, a couple of days ago, I had a thought: why not try meditation? I know several people who do it and they have nothing but good things to say about it. It’s something that’s always interested me, but up until this point I never had the courage to actually give it ago. So I did, and it was enlightening and profound. When I finished my first meditation I felt more at peace with myself mentally than I had in years; I was able to see things from an entirely new perspective. It allowed me to clear the hurdles that were preventing me from simply writing as well as go about my day with a more positive outlook.

Another reason why I love meditation (I’ve elected to do it on a daily basis) is the vivid imagery that it evokes through music and spoken word. I follow Jason Stephenson’s YouTube channel. This was the first video of his that I watched:

peace

Meditation is not for everyone, writer or otherwise. But nonetheless I encourage you to give it a try, especially if you find yourself stressed and in need of a breather from the daily chaos of life.

One thought on “Writer Resources 7: Jason Stephenson & #Meditation

Leave a Reply

